Grahas (planets) in Vedic Astrology

What is Planets (Grahas) in Vedic Astrology

The words “planet” and “star” are used in a slightly different sense in astrology than in astronomy. For example, Sun (a star) and Moon (a satellite of earth) are called planets in astrology, along with Mars etc. Basically, a graha or a planet is a body that has considerable influence on the living beings on earth. Distant stars have negligible influence on us, but Sun, Moon and planets in the solar system have a great influence on our activities. So the word graha (or planet) is used to describe them.

Seven planets are considered in Indian astrology. They are – Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus and Saturn. In addition, two “chaayaa grahas” (shadow planets) are considered in Indian astrology – Rahu and Ketu. These are also called “the north node” and “the south node” respectively (or the head and tail of dragon). Rahu and Ketu are not real planets; they are just some mathematical points.

Apart from these 9 planets, there are 11 moving mathematical points known as Upagrahas (sub-planets or satellites). We also have lagna (ascendant), which is the point that rises on the eastern horizon as the earth rotates around itself. In addition, we have some mathematical points known as “special ascendants”.


By P.V.R. Narasimha Rao

astrology Grahas and their characteristicsastrology Grahas meaningastrology planets and their characteristicsastrology planets meaningGrahas astrology characteristicsGrahas in astrologyGrahas in astrology chartGrahas in astrology housesGrahas in vedic astrologyplanets astrology characteristicsplanets in astrologyplanets in astrology chartplanets in astrology housesplanets in vedic astrology
Comments (3)
Add Comment