0 266

The planets are always round the orbit influencing persons favourably and

unfavourably. These influences are known as transit effects. Generally the transit

effects are gauged from the sign in which the Moon is posited, for example, there

is inauspicions effect of the transit of Jupiter in the 4th house and 6th house from

the Moon while his transit to the 5th house from the Moon produces auspicious


In the consideration of transit effects the planet’s natal position remains the

same. It is only when the transit effects are to be ascertained their present position

is taken into account. This information is available in Panchanga or Ephemeris. As

has been said ahove, it is usual to assess the transit effects of a planet from his

position from the Moon. The question arises as to whether Jupiter who gives evil

effects from his position from the Moon but if Jupiter is well placed from the other

planets in the natal chart, will he still produce the same evil effects. Take the

reverse of it. Suppose that Jupter in his transit is at an auspicious place from the

natal Moon but is not in auspicious position from the natal Sun, Mars, Mercury,

Jupiter, Venus and Saturn and the Lagna. Will the Jupiter be treated as auspicious?

The intention of mentioning all this is that there is a system under which the effects

of planets are ascertained by the position in transit not only from their position

from the Moon but also with reference to the Lagna and all other planets with

referense to their placement in the natal chart. This is called the Ashtakavarga


Ashtaka means eight. These eight are the Lagna and the seven planets. The

planet which is in an auspicious position from more of the eight viz., Lagna and

the seven planets, should be considered beneficial in his effects.

1. In order to ascertain the good and had effects by the several planets in

their transit through the signs of the Zodiac, the Ashtakavarga system has been

very highly spoken of the great sages and I now set forth the mode of

accomplishing it. Notes — The meaning of Ashtakavarga is literally the group of 8

things. In other words, it is the combination of the good and bad positions of a

planet with respect to the 7 planets and the Lagna (8 things). So is the combination

of benefic and malefic dots in a native’s chart with reference to these 8 planets

(here Lagna is also treated as a planet).

2. In the ancient times the Rasi chakra etc., were drawn on the ground and

the places where dots are to be indicated were shown by placing beads but now we

use pen and paper and dots are marked at the places where beads are to be placed.

Although in the verses the word ‘beads’ has been used, we in own translation

replace ‘beads’ with ‘dots’ or bindus.

Draw a horoscope on a paper and place the all seven planets at their

appropriate positions. Suppose we have to prepare Ashtakavarga chakra of the

horoscopoe given below. Rahu and Ketu being shadowy planets have no place in

the Ashtakarvarga chart. First we will describe how the Sun’s Ashtakavarga is


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More

Vedic Astrology Lessons, Astrology Lessons, Indian Astrology Lessons, Hindu Astrology Lessons, Jyotish Lessons, Vedic Jyotish Lessons, Lessons in Astrology, Lessons in Vedic Astrology, Lessons in Indian Astrology, Lessons in Hindu Astrology
%d bloggers like this: