Nakshatras (constellations) in Vedic Astrology

0 11,212

Nakshatras (constellations)

In Vedic astrology, the zodiac is divided into 27 nakshatras. Each nakshatra has a length of 360º/27 = 13º 20′. The first nakshatra, for example, stretches from the beginning of Aries to 13º 20′ in Aries. The second nakshatra stretches from there to 26º 40′ in Aries. The third nakshatra stretches from there to 10º in Taurus. The list of nakshatras with the respective starting and ending points is given in Table 2. The table also gives the “Vimsottari lords” of all nakshatras. This will be used later.

Each nakshatra is again divided into 4 quarters. They are called padas (legs/feet). The length of a nakshatra pada is 3º 20′.



Nakshatras List

Here is a list of the 27 Nakshatras, also known as lunar mansions or constellations, according to Vedic astrology:

List of Nakshatras

  1. Ashwini Nakshatra
  2. Bharani Nakshatra
  3. Krittika Nakshatra
  4. Rohini Nakshatra
  5. Mrigashirsha Nakshatra
  6. Ardra Nakshatra
  7. Punarvasu Nakshatra
  8. Pushya Nakshatra
  9. Ashlesha Nakshatra
  10. Magha Nakshatra
  11. Purva Phalguni Nakshatra
  12. Uttara Phalguni Nakshatra
  13. Hasta Nakshatra
  14. Chitra Nakshatra
  15. Swati Nakshatra Nakshatra
  16. Vishakha Nakshatra
  17. Anuradha Nakshatra
  18. Jyeshtha Nakshatra
  19. Mula Nakshatra
  20. Purva Ashadha Nakshatra
  21. Uttara Ashadha Nakshatra
  22. Shravana Nakshatra
  23. Dhanishta Nakshatra
  24. Shatabhisha Nakshatra
  25. Purva Bhadrapada Nakshatra
  26. Uttara Bhadrapada Nakshatra
  27. Revati Nakshatra

Read more about characteristics of each nakshatras.

Each Nakshatra spans a particular portion of the sky and is associated with certain characteristics, qualities, and ruling deities. Vedic astrology uses Nakshatras along with other astrological factors to make predictions and analyze various aspects of a person’s life.

27 Nakshatras Characteristics

Here are some brief characteristics associated with each of the 27 Nakshatras:

  1. Ashwini: Energetic, swift, and initiatory.
  2. Bharani: Fierce, determined, and symbolizes birth and creation.
  3. Krittika: Fiery, courageous, and represents the cutting or purifying process.
  4. Rohini: Nurturing, sensual, and associated with growth and fertility.
  5. Mrigashirsha: Curious, searching, and connected to exploration and seeking truth.
  6. Ardra: Intense, transformative, and associated with storms and destruction.
  7. Punarvasu: Nurturing, caring, and symbolizes renewal and rejuvenation.
  8. Pushya: Nurturing, protective, and associated with nourishment and growth.
  9. Ashlesha: Mysterious, secretive, and represents transformation and hidden potentials.
  10. Magha: Regal, authoritative, and connected to leadership and ancestral blessings.
  11. Purva Phalguni: Romantic, creative, and symbolizes passion and sensual pleasures.
  12. Uttara Phalguni: Generous, compassionate, and associated with marriage and partnership.
  13. Hasta: Skillful, precise, and represents craftsmanship and dexterity.
  14. Chitra: Artistic, imaginative, and connected to beauty and self-expression.
  15. Swati: Independent, diplomatic, and symbolizes independence and balance.
  16. Vishakha: Determined, ambitious, and associated with achievement and growth.
  17. Anuradha: Devoted, loyal, and represents friendship and deep connections.
  18. Jyeshtha: Wise, authoritative, and connected to power and transformation.
  19. Mula: Rooted, intense, and symbolizes the process of elimination and renewal.
  20. Purva Ashadha: Charismatic, adventurous, and associated with triumph and victory.
  21. Uttara Ashadha: Determined, goal-oriented, and represents success and perseverance.
  22. Shravana: Knowledgeable, attentive, and connected to learning and listening.
  23. Dhanishta: Independent, ambitious, and symbolizes wealth and prosperity.
  24. Shatabhisha: Analytical, scientific, and associated with healing and rejuvenation.
  25. Purva Bhadrapada: Spiritual, mystical, and represents cosmic evolution and transcendence.
  26. Uttara Bhadrapada: Compassionate, humanitarian, and connected to spirituality and service.
  27. Revati: Nurturing, compassionate, and symbolizes completion and the end of a cycle.

Please note that these are general characteristics of 27 Nakshatras (constellations), and the interpretation and influence of Nakshatras can vary depending on the placement in a birth chart and other astrological factors.

In Vedic astrology, certain Nakshatras are considered auspicious, while others are considered inauspicious for various activities. Here’s a general overview:

Auspicious Nakshatras:

  1. Rohini
  2. Mrigashirsha
  3. Magha
  4. Uttara Phalguni
  5. Hasta
  6. Swati
  7. Anuradha
  8. Mula
  9. Uttara Ashadha
  10. Uttara Bhadrapada
  11. Revati

These Nakshatras are generally considered favorable (Auspicious Nakshatras) for activities such as starting new ventures, marriages, important ceremonies, and other auspicious events.

Inauspicious Nakshatras:

  1. Ashwini
  2. Krittika
  3. Ardra
  4. Punarvasu
  5. Ashlesha
  6. Chitra
  7. Vishakha
  8. Jyeshtha
  9. Purva Ashadha
  10. Shravana
  11. Dhanishta
  12. Shatabhisha
  13. Purva Bhadrapada

These Nakshatras are generally considered less favorable (Inauspicious Nakshatras) for important activities and may bring challenges or obstacles. However, it’s important to note that the impact of Nakshatras can vary based on individual charts, planetary alignments, and other factors.

It’s always recommended to consult with a professional astrologer for a more personalized and accurate assessment of the auspicious and inauspicious influences of Nakshatras based on your specific circumstances.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More

Vedic Astrology Lessons, Astrology Lessons, Indian Astrology Lessons, Hindu Astrology Lessons, Jyotish Lessons, Vedic Jyotish Lessons, Lessons in Astrology, Lessons in Vedic Astrology, Lessons in Indian Astrology, Lessons in Hindu Astrology
%d bloggers like this: