Sanyasa yoga in Vedic Astrology & Planet combinations

2 12,929
Sanyasa yoga in Hindu astrology are the peculiar planetary situations or combinations seen in certain horoscopes that indicate Sanyasa i.e. renunciation of worldly material life by persons born with those yogas. Sanyasa yogas are also known as Pravrajya yogas.Pravrajya, in sanskrit,  is derived from the bali word ‘Pabbajja’ which means leaving a home (renunciate) to live and be like buddhist monks.
Traits of a Sanyasi  that gives a pravrajya-yoga:
  • A sanyasi ought to be learned and someone with a sound logic, deeply philosophical and someone with clear and uncluttered thinking.
  • Not necessarily deeply religious, but someone seeking truth
  • Detached from family, society and worldly pleasures

Saturn is the major significator of renunciation.Detachment is caused by malefic influence of Sun, Rahu, Saturn and 12th house lord. Such an influence is required on 2nd (family) and 7th house (spouse). Influence on 2nd is much more important as an influence on 7th alone will cause separation from spouse, thus resulting in a divorce.Separating influence is required on 4th house (society) and 12th house (worldly pleasures). These influence are a must from the Moon as well – especially the influence of Saturn on the Moon is required should be analyzed very carefully.

  Major Factor For Renunciation
When there are  4 or more planets (higher strength)  occupy a single house, the planets compete each other and thus vanishes their significance and just because of this the native gives up the wordly pleasures and becomes a Sanyasi or behaves like a Sanyasi.
Similarly, in a horoscope if there are 4 or more planets which are exalted or in own house possessing high strength, in that case also the result will be same.The nature of the sanyas is governed by the strongest of these set of planets. Such a combination should ideally occur in a kendra to affect the Lagna, otherwise it will not be effective. The native will be bereft of spouse and children.Even if the native marry, it will not be a long lasting relationship.And in certain cases, the native may possess spouse and children, endowed with wealth  but he will be enforced to lead a sanyasi like life with or without knowing the outside wold.
  1. If the Sun be the strongest planet the person of high morals and intallectual prowess will choose severe and difficult practices in remote places .
  2. If it be the Moon, then in seclusion more in the study of scriptures.
  3. If it be Mercury, one who is easily influenced by philosophy of others
  4. If it be Mars, one who chooses to wear red-coloured clothes and who struggles to control his temper
  5. If it be Jupiter, one who has complete control over his senses and sense – organs
  6. If it be Venus, a wandering mendicant.
  7. If the strongest planet be Saturn it makes one adopt exceedingly severe practices.
The are some other combinations that cause pravrajya-yoga
  1. If ascendant,Jupiter and Moon is aspected by Saturn and Jupiter occupies 9th house and if the native possess a Rajayoga , he will become a sanyasi and spends his life  visiting  shrines and other holy places.The native can’t enjoy the Rajayoga just like Sree Budha.
  2. If Saturn occupies 9th house and  is not aspected by any planet,
  3. When lord of 10th house is in kendra or trikona to the house occupied by 4 or more planets
  4. Saturn aspect a weak ascendant indicates sanyas –yoga
  5. Saturn posited in 10th house from ascendant / Moon and related to Sun by association / aspect / quadrant relationship, indicates sanyas- yoga.
  6. Moon in 9th house without having aspect of any planet, indicates sanyas.
  7. Moon sign is aspected by the lord of ascendant and Saturn.
  8. Ascendant is aspected by many planets being placed in a same sign.
  9. Lord of 10th house combined with 4 planets in quadrant / trine.
  10. Lord of 9th is strong and being placed in 5th or 9th house and aspected / associated with
    Jupiter and Venus, indicates a great sanyasi.
  11. Saturn is posited in 10th in Pisces sign, indication of detachment from the world.
  12. Saturn and lord of ascendant aspect Moon sign indicate renunciation.
  13. If Saturn is placed in 5th/9th or aspects these houses, and any four or more planets
    are in a house and one of these planets is the lord of the 10th house, is the sure
    combination for sanyas.

Source: phaladheepika

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Vedic Astrology Lessons, Astrology Lessons, Indian Astrology Lessons, Hindu Astrology Lessons, Jyotish Lessons, Vedic Jyotish Lessons, Lessons in Astrology, Lessons in Vedic Astrology, Lessons in Indian Astrology, Lessons in Hindu Astrology
%d bloggers like this: