What is Divisional Charts in Vedic Astrology?

3 735

Varga chakras (divisional charts)
We saw that charts can be drawn with the information of which planet occupies which rasi. Based on the longitude of a planet, we can find the rasi occupied by it and mark its position in rasi chart.
In addition, we have what are known as “divisional charts” (Sanskrit name: varga chakras). These are based on dividing rasis into 2 parts, 3 parts, 4 parts and so on. We divide each rasi into n parts and map each part to a rasi again. Based on the rasis occupied by planets in these divisional mappings, we draw divisional charts (or harmonic charts). Each divisional chart throws light on a specific area of one’s life. In each divisional chart, we find houses and analyze the chart as if it were an independent chart.

The science of Vedic astrology stands on the basis of 4 pillars –

(1) grahas or planets,

(2) rasis or signs,

(3) bhavas or houses, and,

(4) varga chakras or divisional charts.



By P.V.R. Narasimha Rao

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More

Vedic Astrology Lessons, Astrology Lessons, Indian Astrology Lessons, Hindu Astrology Lessons, Jyotish Lessons, Vedic Jyotish Lessons, Lessons in Astrology, Lessons in Vedic Astrology, Lessons in Indian Astrology, Lessons in Hindu Astrology