Exalted and Debilitated of planets vedic astrology

0 14,875

Exaltation (Uchcha) and Debilitation (Neecha) of Planets

Planets have their own houses, moolatrikona houses, Exaltation and Debilitation houses. Though we have already discussed about own houses, let’s revisit it once again and move to exaltation and debilitation.

  1. Sun and Moon own one house
  2. All other planets own two houses each
  3. Rahu and ketu do not own any house

Own Houses

Sun (Surya) Simha (Leo)
Moon (Chandra) Kataka (Cancer)
Mars (Kuja) Mesha (Aries), Vrischika (Scorpio)
Mercury (Budha) Mithuna (Gemini), Kanya (Virgo)
Jupiter (Guru) Dhanus (Sagittarius), Meena (Pisces)
Venus (Shukra) Rishabha (Taurus), Thula (Libra)
Saturn (Shani) Makara (Capricorn), Kumbha (Aquarius)

Moolatrikona Houses

Planet Moolatrikona house
Moolatrikona Portion  (Degrees)
Sun Leo 0 – 20
Moon Taurus 4 – 30
Mars Aries 0 – 12
Mercury Virgo 15 – 20
Jupiter Sagittarius 0 – 10
Venus Libra 0 – 15
Saturn Aquarius 1 – 20

Exaltation (Uchcha) and Debilitation (Neecha) Houses: Planets get strength in own house and moolatrikona houses. Exaltation means high strength or high status. Debilitation means weak or low status. Planets acquire high strength in exaltation houses and become weak in debilitation houses. Sun is exalted in Aries and debilitated in Libra.It should be noted that, opposite sign or 7th sign from the exaltation house is the sign of debilitation.

Exaltation and Debilitation Houses for each planet is given below

Planet Exaltation house
   Debilitation house
Sun Aries Libra
Moon Taurus Scorpio
Mars Capricorn Cancer
Mercury Virgo Pisces
Jupiter Cancer Capricorn
Venus Pisces Virgo
Saturn Libra Aries







This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Vedic Astrology Lessons, Astrology Lessons, Indian Astrology Lessons, Hindu Astrology Lessons, Jyotish Lessons, Vedic Jyotish Lessons, Lessons in Astrology, Lessons in Vedic Astrology, Lessons in Indian Astrology, Lessons in Hindu Astrology
%d bloggers like this: